Just another WordPress.com site

Bee on Sedum

Bee on Sedum

Bee on Sedum

I had intended to photograph two lone butterflies (a small tortoiseshell and a red admiral) that are frequent visitors to my sedums but they were very nervous and didn’t like me being too near.  Not so for the myriad of bees, they took no notice of me.  I have no idea what type of bee this is but I am quite lucky and get lots of different types of bee in my garden.  What is also exciting is that on the day I took this photo I learnt that two rare species of bee had just been discovered on nearby Bartinney Down; the tormentil nomad bee and the tormentil mining bee.  Interstingly the tormentil nomad bee is a “cuckoo” bee that uses the nest of the tormentil mining bee: Cornwall Widlife Trust -rare bees

Last year lots of butterflies visited my garden but this year I have hardly seen any.

Another Bee on a Sedum

Another Bee on a Sedum

I couldn’t get any more depth of field with these hand held macro photos without getting serious camera shake.  I never use flash.  I usually take macro photos of flowers but if I was to seriously start taking macro shots of small insects etc I guess I would have to inest in some sort of flash equipment.

5 responses

  1. leecleland

    Wow, impressive bee shots. Fascinating when you realise they are not just ‘bees’ but many different varieties of bee each with their own distinct habits.

    September 17, 2014 at 11:24 pm

    • Thanks Lee, Apparently if it were not for bees we might have all died from starvation!

      September 19, 2014 at 5:33 pm

  2. These are amazing, Love the detail and colours, great shots. Dof is so hard so close, I started using flash in the summer and I dropped my ISO and got some more dof.

    September 18, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    • Thanks Ben. Problem with bees is they keep moving! I also think you have to get a lot of light into their faces and flash may well be necessary for this – I used the Lightroom adjustment brush to do this but I think to use flash might be better.

      September 20, 2014 at 11:44 pm

      • Bees do like to move and dance. I planning on getting a macro lens to help with focusing, extension tubes really make it hard sometimes.

        September 21, 2014 at 10:51 am

Leave a Reply

