Just another WordPress.com site

Astrantia – a shaggy Hidcote hybrid

Another photo from my visit to Hidcote gardens in June.

 

Astrantia

Astrantia in Hidcote gardens.

 

These Astrantias had been planted en masse and looked marvelous.  So good, I bought one and brought it back to Cornwall.

Astrantia - in my garden.

Astrantia – in my garden.

 

I only purchased one but I am told they are prolific self seeders.  I’m hoping for lots more in the future.  I am not the only one who likes them.  The bees adore them.

Bee on the Astrantia

Bee on the Astrantia

4 responses

  1. The flowers and photos are very nice.

    July 5, 2013 at 10:33 am

    • Thank you, Bente. I enjoyed your roses gallery. Strange how they seem to grow so well in Norway. They do not do so well in West Cornwall, although I do have some rosa rugosas. You have inspired me to put some on my blog, maybe later when the rose hips develop.

      July 5, 2013 at 7:28 pm

  2. Superb photographs Malcolm! Love these!

    July 7, 2013 at 4:59 am

    • Thank You, Adrian. I prefer photographing the sea but for some reason I seem to be having better luck with flowers.

      July 7, 2013 at 10:44 pm

Leave a Reply

