Just another WordPress.com site

Godrevy

Friday 22nd February 2013

 

 

Godrevy

Godrevy; taken an hour before sunset

We met at 3pm next to the daffodil fields.  Cold, windy and grey; not the best conditions for photographing rows of daffodils.  The main guy wanted sun so didn’t turn up, the second had to get back to work.  Me, the third, not wanting to waste the journey drove the 10 minutes to Godrevy.   A friend has loaned me a D800 and 14-24 f.8 lens.  How lucky am I?  However,  I only use it for 5 minutes.  I am scared of dropping it on the rocks so I take it back to the car.  If I’m going to have an accident I’d rather be using my own gear.   It is dull, very overcast and earlier had looked as if it was going to snow but a few streaks of pink appear in the sky, only for about 15 minutes though, and I wait another 40 minutes for the sunset but the pink has disappeared and been replaced with dark cloud.

Godrevy; original raw image

Godrevy; original raw image

I think I may have been too heavy on the sky.  Still, not bad though, especially as I went out to photograph daffodils.

9 responses

  1. That’s the most interesting photo of daffs I’ve ever seen! 😉 Like the movement in the foreground.

    February 24, 2013 at 10:40 pm

    • Thanks! I’m biased, I prefer seascapes – but my wife would prefer daffs, especially real ones!

      February 26, 2013 at 12:10 am

  2. I think the processing is just perfect. It’s a lovely shot and after my dawn trip to Godrevy a few weeks ago, one I’d been planning to return for.
    It’s a shame this current high is so cloudy. I too wanted to photograph the daffodil fields last week. I’m hoping for a bit of sun this week. I was going to head down to towards St Keverne as I’d heard there were quite a lot of daff growers down that way. Where were you going to go.? Only 10 minutes from Godrevy so not the Lizard I imagine. Thanks.

    February 25, 2013 at 12:19 pm

    • Thanks! You need high tide for this shot, but you have to take great care!
      The daffodil fields are between Connor Downs and Roseworthy next to a small power substation, where there is quite a wide pull in. However, one field is past its best and the other has barbed wire on the gate. I don’t think the farmer wants visitors, although the gate can be opened. This was my first time here but a friend has tried to get a good photo here a couple of times. I’ll keep a good lookout for you in case I see a more suitable field of daffodils, although around West Penwith most have been picked or allowed to go over and are now past their best.

      February 26, 2013 at 12:03 am

      • Thank you very much. I was at Godrevy at dawn this morning on a high-ish tide but I only made it as far as the little car park as I can’t walk too far and you can’t get any further by car, the road has an annoying post in the middle of it.. 😐 I’m quite pleased with the shots I got but these flat dull skies don’t help any do they?

        February 26, 2013 at 12:31 pm

  3. Great job capturing the power of the ocean. I am sure you waited patiently for perfect time when the wave hit the foreground rock.

    February 25, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    • Well, yes and no! – being digital you can waste quite a few shots trying to get the one you want. I was shooting at f8 with a 6 stop ND filter giving me a 0.6 second shutter speed. The problem is I never delete the images I don’t use!

      February 26, 2013 at 7:31 pm

  4. WOW

    March 16, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Leave a Reply

