Just another WordPress.com site

Macro

Friday 11th January 2013

 

I don’t have lawns, I have grassy areas and if truth be known most of my grassy areas consist of moss.  I’ve had mushrooms popping up here and there since last September.  I’ve just had a nice batch materialise at the front of the house.

This little gem is about 2 inches tall.

This little gem is about 2 inches tall.

 

I have a very old pink azalea that started flowering over a month ago.   I don’t find the pink individual flowers that interesting but I do have a newly planted white azalea which has just got its first flower of the year.

Azalea

Azalea

 

Below I have added my original version of the mushroom with the colours on the warm side.  I decided this does not look right and went for the more realistic look.  However, it does have something – what do you think?  The trouble with Photoshop is you don’t know when to stop.

Mushroom with warm colours.

Mushroom with warm colours.

 

8 responses

  1. Gorgeous shots. The amount of detail you’ve captured is incredible. I do prefer the first mushroom photo. The cooler colors are softer and more fitting, in my opinion. 🙂

    January 15, 2013 at 1:02 am

    • Thanks. Most people I speak to, like yourself, prefer the first photo. Maybe we should have a “keep the natural look” campaign!

      January 16, 2013 at 10:41 am

  2. The original shot still caught my eye. I think warm colors never hurt, but I feel you on getting carried away in post editing 😉

    January 15, 2013 at 1:32 am

    • I see you like the hills and mountains – and the colours there can appear on the cool side – nothing wrong with a bit of warming up!

      January 16, 2013 at 10:44 am

  3. I love macro photography & your photos are wonderful. I prefer the colours in the first mushroom photo, and looking at it makes me feel like I got caught in Honey, I shrunk the kids! Ha, how old is that film?! 🙂

    January 15, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    • You’re making me feel old! I remember taking the kids to see that film when it first came out.

      January 16, 2013 at 10:36 am

  4. These macros are just stunning. Beatiful.

    February 11, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    • Thanks. I got lucky, the light was perfect when I photographed them.

      February 12, 2013 at 12:22 am

Leave a Reply

