Just another WordPress.com site

Feeding Frenzy at St Ives

3rd January 2013

 

Hadn’t taken any photos for a couple of weeks.  Visited St Ives last Thursday and approaching Lambeth Walk wondered what everyone was looking at.  As I got nearer I could hear the sound of hundreds of gulls.  The tide was on the way out and a feeding frenzy was taking place.   Amongst the hundreds of gulls I counted over 50 of what I thought were cormorants.   A birder nearby told me they were a mixture of shags, cormorants and a few razorbills.  I had never seen so many together and so close to the shore.  It was quite a sight, though I think most people were taken by the antics of a lone seal having a great time.  I only had my mobile phone with me.  I took a couple of photos and went off to get my proper camera.  By the time I got back the scene wasn’t quite as good as the tide had gone further out.  However, the sea was a mass of feeding birds all day long.  The three photos below, I believe, are of sprats, young pilchards (sardines).

This is what the seabirds after - and their are millions of them

This is what the seabirds after – and their are millions of them

The first photo is a small section of this one

The first photo is a small section of this one

Stranded, as the tide receedes

Some stranded sprats cut off by the receding tide

Taken with an old mobile phone

Taken with an old mobile phone

a two photo panaroma

a two photo pan0rama

a 13 photo panorama

a 13 photo panorama

The above panorama is somewhat lost shown in small format.  The original is 24,000 pixels across and shows a huge amount of detail.

2 responses

  1. Happy New Year! Nice to see you back 🙂 And wow, that must’ve been a sight!

    January 6, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    • And a Happy New Year to you too! Let’s hope it is a good one.

      January 8, 2013 at 12:32 am

Leave a Reply

