Just another WordPress.com site

Perseid Meteor Shower

Thursday evening 16th August 2012.

Rosewall Hill was on the programmme.  Only two of us turned up.  Could have been something to do with the torrential rain and 30mph winds.  So, no photos of Rosewall Hill.  Talk in the news of the annual Persied meteor shower reminded me of arriving home late at night in August 2010.  It was a very clear night and I had never seen the sky so full of stars.  As I was looking at what turned out to be the Milky Way I saw my first ever shooting star, and then another, and then another… it was time to get my camera…

obviously a composite!

 

The tree and meteor shower was taken from my back garden on 13th August 2010 – iso 800 at f8 for  1224 seconds

iso 800 at f8 for 1224 seconds –  25mm lens – 11:50pm

 

Fortuitously, a month later I read that September, early evening, was the best time to photograph the moon as it then appeared “larger” than normal.  This shot was taken from my front garden on 21st September 2010.

iso 100 at f6.3 for 1/20 second – 400mm (dx format) – 6:50pm

 

If you look hard in the next photo you can see a meteor (shooting star).  The lighter areas show the Milky Way.  Apparently, it is recorded that man has been watching the Persied meteor shower for at least 2000 years,

iso 800 at f4 for 454 seconds at 25mm

 

Leave a Reply

